The Temples


Based on the analysis of the Pura Purana (a holy book made from palm tree leaves as a historical document of the temple), temples in The Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary (Monkey Forest Ubud) area are built around the middle of the 14th century. When the kingdoms in Bali were ruled by Dynasty of Pejeng or can also be said about the beginning of Gelgel Dynasty.

There are three temples in the area of Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary :

  • Pura Dalem Agung (The Main Temple), located in the southwest area. In this temple, people worship to the God.

  • 10615402_436912223115745_1152321140525318586_n(Hyang Widhi) in personification as Shiva, ”The Recycler” or “The Transformer”

  • In the northwest area, you will find Pura Beji (Beji Temple). In this temple people worship to the God (Hyang Widhi) in personification as the goddess Gangga. This temple is a place of purification before conducting the ceremony (piodalan). Pura Beji is often used for ”melukat” as spiritual and physical cleansing.

  • The third temple is Pura Prajapati (Prajapati Temple). This temple is located in the northeast area. This temple is adjacent to the cemetery. In this temple Hindus worship to the God (Hyang Widhi) in personification as Prajapati.  The cemetery is used temporarily, while waiting for the day of the mass cremation which is held every 5 years.

  • 2 thoughts on “The Temples

      1. Dear Anesh

        Warmest greeting from Monkey forest Ubud.
        Kindly we inform you our sacred temples is only for prayer community only,
        the visitor can see the temple from the outside of temple area.
        If you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
        Thank you for your cooperation.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *